In Rome We Run!!!

We Run Rome

What an amazing way to end the year and “run” towards the new one! Last New Year’s Eve Rome was kissed by a warm sun, spring didn’t seem so far indeed, therefore the perfect day for the thousands of people who gathered at Terme di Caracalla stadium to run the third edition of “We Run Rome” and say goodbye to 2013. Among top runners and amateurs, there was my husband, who is a sort of runningaholic, can I really say that?, well, he is addicted to running. He runs at least, and I say at least, four times a week for 60-80 km overall. No matter climate or temperature, he must go. And you know why? Because running makes you happy. It’s not only for the endorphins that your body produces, it’s the challenge, it’s reaching the goal that is rewarding as I also said in a previous post. Once you cross that line, time and rank are certainly important, but it’s that extraordinary sense of satisfaction that makes you keep going to the next goal. I know, that now you would like to ask me this question: as you are glorifying the power or running, why don’t YOU run? The answer is simple: I’m happy blogging 😀

Here are some pictures of the race:

Rome trees

Trees in Rome

We Run Rome Village

We Run Rome Village

We Run Rome Village

We Run Rome Village

The start line

The start line

Top Runners warming up before the start

Top Runners warming up before the start

Top Runners at the start line

Top Runners at the start line

Runners at the start line

Runners at the start line

Goooo!

Goooo!

Goooo!

Goooo!

C. KIMURGOR (Kenya) : the winner!

C. KIMURGOR (Kenya) : the winner!

C. KIMURGOR (Kenya) : the winner!

C. KIMURGOR (Kenya) : the winner!

TIRUNESH DIBABA (Etiopia) : the female winner!

TIRUNESH DIBABA (Etiopia) : the female winner!

Valeria Straneo (Italy) :  female marathon silver medal at World Championships in Athletics in Moscow 2013

Valeria Straneo (Italy) : female marathon silver medal at World Championships in Athletics in Moscow 2013

My husband's arrival!

My husband’s arrival!

My husband's satisfaction

My husband’s satisfaction

44 thoughts on “In Rome We Run!!!

  1. Running in Rome! I like the sounds of that for a destination race.
    Be careful…i understand there are some folks who love blogging and running 🙂 Happy New Year to you and your husband!

    • My husband thanks you for suggesting this new reading. As you can guess we have hundreds of books on the topic, but he is always hungry for more. The descriptions are similar, because this is how running works on the mind of people; that’s why I talked about addiction. This combination of effort,challenge,goal, sense of freedom is overwhelming. Despite what I wrote, I love sport very much. I swim long-distance and I used to run myself. I can still remember that feeling of exaltation running gave me but unfortunately I stressed my back and I had to stop 😦

    • My husband thanks you for suggesting this new reading. As you can guess we have hundreds of books on the topic, but he is always hungry for more. The descriptions are similar, because this is how running works on the mind of people; that’s why I talked about addiction. This combination of effort,challenge,goal, sense of freedom is overwhelming. Despite what I wrote, I love sport very much. I swim long-distance and I used to run myself. I can still remember that feeling of exaltation running gave me but unfortunately I stressed my back and I had to stop

      Reply ↓

  2. Loved this, Miss Stefania. The challenge and your husband’s meeting that challenge regardless of the weather: Priceless. Also, loved the ending. You blog ’cause blogging makes you happy. I relate to both as someone who hunts fossils in the rain and as someone writes about those beachcombing expeditions ’cause they both make me happy. Hope you and your family as a GREAT 2014. Write on!

  3. Thank you for sharing the beautiful photos. I could feel the adrenalin rush as the runners crossed the finish line. I was envious of the shorts however. We have winter storm warnings where I live — three layers of clothing to go out and shovel and I was still freezing. 😀

  4. Your husband is a woraruni.fn..what? What´s up with the Italian´s, how are they gonna party later on, they all be with swollen ankles.

    Fun post, nice pictures too. Tell your husband to stop running, one day if he gets really mad at you he won´t even get in the vehicle and leave, he´ll just run and run from country to country. Sort of Forest gump style.

  5. It looks wonderful. I visited Rome a few years back and it was a great experience. You must have had fun! Congratulate your husband and thanks for liking my blog.

Leave a Reply

