Genesis

genesi

I don’t know what is the impulse that made you conceive the idea of creating a blog: sharing thoughts and experiences? Spreading knowledge? I’m sure everybody had a good reason but I have to admit that I didn’t. The idea of the blog, actually, wasn’t mine but my headteacher’s, my boss. First of all I have to tell you that I am the kind of teacher who is not completely involved in the many activities of the school and in time I have learnt to select the few projects I think I can manage well, thus achieving the perfect balance between the school effort and the world outside. It’s not so easy however. One day, in fact, while I was driving my boss home, out of the blue she came up with this blogging idea, as she had recently visited some schools in Sweden and noticed that every teacher there seems to have his own blog, where to put material, keep contact with families and students and stuff like that. Furthermore it was much easier to manage than a website. Had I created a blog, that would have been the trojan horse that would have torn the medieval veil that hovers our school with its touch of technological modernity. Well, I did it. That’s why, in case you didn’t notice, there is a page in my blog on how creating a WordPress blog: it’s the trojan horse. However I haven’t been that prompt, because at first I couldn’t visualize how to use this new device, as I already managed and educational website and I didn’t want to make it its copy. My first posts, actually, looked like the first baby steps in blogging: short, impersonal, insecure. Yet, there was something positive in blogging: I had got rid of my husband. He had been absolutely indispensable in managing the web site as I am not that good at programming, but now I was completely autonomous. I only needed an idea. When one day I eventually found my muse:football. Well, I have to confess I am a great football fan and in that period my team had just won one of the most important match of the season(good old times!!!) and the joy was so immense that it made think about Wordsworth‘s “spontaneous overflow of powerful feelings”. It was a true epiphanic moment. At once I set to write a post “Wordsworth and football” about the Preface to the Lyrical Ballads using the metaphor of football to explain Wordsworth‘s themes and for the first time I knew what I was doing and why. The blog could give me the opportunity of giving different perspectives to the topics we studied in class, thus promoting discussions and adding, whenever possible, a certain impression of lightness to the process of learning. It actually worked. Since then I kept on writing almost weekly and with this “unbirthday” post I felt like celebrating my first year of blogging, fun, personal growth. Thank you all.

50 thoughts on “Genesis

  1. Well done on a year of effort! Wordsworth and football? Hmmm…

    I dribbled lonely as a cloud
    That floats on high o’er vales and hills,
    When all at once I saw the crowd,
    My run was giving lots of thrills -;
    Beside the post see keeper freeze –
    My strike goes past him like a breeze!

    No; Even though he would have had a ball, I don’t think that was quite WW’s goal … 🙂

  2. As for me, I must fulfil the commitment to my son: of having to read (and write reviews) Agatha Christie’s books within a year. My husband thinks I am bonkers as reading too many novels are not good for my mood. Ha! Nonetheless, I have learnt a lot from the amazing authoress. Four weeks to go until my deadline.

    Thanks for following my blog and I hope you keep up with writing.

  3. Oh, no. I have an English teacher following my blog. I’m kidding Miss Stefania. I found reading about you most interesting. Blogs and books really do open up a whole new world, don’t they? My opening two comments have more to do with me than they do with you. I’m a journalist by trade who wished he had studied grammar and literature in college instead. I try hard to follow the rules of grammar, but I go more by how it sounds to my “ears.” Wow. Teaching in Rome. That is so cool. I hope one day to visit Italy. I have great admiration for those who teach our children. The future of our world’s children lay partly in your hands. That can be a heavy burden to bear and I greatly appreciate the Stefanias of the world, having in no small way that additional burden in life. Thank you so much and thanks for following my blog. Rob H.

  4. Your blog evolution has evidently been a big success if the number of comments this post has received is anything to go by. Congratulations and hope you enjoy all the festive football that is coming our way.

  5. I have written a complete story but it needs the flow and my story is lacking the flow.
    To get the feeling of a flow in a story, I need experience. That is the reason for my starting the blog. The story is not related to the blog in any way.

    Thank you for the post. Its a great post.
    Thanks for the like.
    Regards.

    • Thank you so much for the comment. Certainly if you want to get the flow you need to write a lot, but in my opinion, reading more will help you as well. Cheers and merry Christmas. 🙂

  6. I finally had the time to read the post on your blog. BRAVA, well done, congratulations!
    You told me you wanted to do that and I am glad you give credits for that “start input! but it’s your effort and enthusiasm that keeps it going.
    Just one thing: I am the headteacher and enjoy supporting and coordinating people, I like valuing people’s talents……but I am not the BOSS!!!!!! Everybody does what they like doing…just as you have done with your blog. Thank you

  7. Thanks for the follow and I’ve followed back. When I became disabled with MCS (multiple chemical sensitivities) — both my teaching and traveling were curtailed. Your wonderful posts allow me to still enjoy both. Happy New Year. 😀

  8. Stefania: Congrats on one year of blogging. And thank you for your steady support of Bookshelf. Always appreciate the support of teachers and literature aficionados. Best wishes for a great 2014. Cheers. Alex

  9. Congratulations on blogging for a year. I know how you feel about – why blog? – I don’t fully know why I blog, that’s a lie, I know exactly why I blog – Because I would rather have people read my books than buy them. Having said that I want to thank you for following me on papermudandme.wordpress.com. As you can tell that is a little about everything. If you want a blog strictly about my books that will be – writingiam.wordpress.com. – Again, Thanks and aloha – pjs.

Leave a Reply

